My NA Is Repaired - A Good New Story

:grinning: I’m too happy about this after 8 weeks of anguish at having a fox go right into the front of the car and having to drive a few miles home with coolant leaking and unsure if she’d start again. A compressions test, new radiator, a/c deleted, new undertray, plate, holder and air dam later and some help from a mate to get the bumper and splitter stitched back together she’s back on the road and ready to go again.

First pic doesn’t do it much justice the bumper was in some mess paint wise along side the split and panels that needed replaced. Can’t believe the splitter was saved as well.

Before

!
During
!
Now

I’ve got a playlist of it on YouTube if anyone is interested in that sort of thing. (Be gentle, I’m no mechanic and it’s really only for a laugh more than anything)

Can’t wait to get back out for some decent shots and filming opportunities again :grin:(After lockdown obviously)

7 Likes

For those wheel arch crosshead clips, I find the best way is to jam in a flat head screwdriver under the “flange”, and then the crosshead part generally unscrews ok, once the thread has something to bite on.

Those “kevlar reinforced” hoses I don’t trust; always Mazda originals. Had a few one on me quite quickly, and it was apparent the “reinforcement” was non-existant. Supplier blamed a bad batch, but once bit, twice shy.

1 Like

Thanks saz good to know about the hoses! I’ll be keeping an eye on them perilously over the next few weeks to see what happens with them. Holding pretty strong just now but suppose that’s just because they are new.

Hope I don’t have to go back into the arch liners anytime too soon :grin: bit of a pain to get those out. Thanks for checking it out!

Self indulgent I know but had to share this ever so slightly enhanced pic. Unintentionally now think I’ve found the respray colour :rofl:

2 Likes

Vin Rouge/ Merlot.
My very favourite all time Mk1 paint.
Rarely see any out and about any more.