Rustproof now or later

Hi 

As a complete newbie to the world of Mx-5’s i have read a few posts on the problems of rust. We have just purchased a 2011 Kendo with only 9K on the clock and in fantastic condition all over.

We are planning to keep this car for many years and I am assuming at some point it would be wise to get the car rustproofed, should i get this done straight away,  and can anyone recommend a suitable place in the south east?

Many thanks

I have undersealed a good number of MX5’s.

I you are keeping the car for well over 5 years, yes just do it now.

Also if you live near the coast or will do a lot of winter driving on slated roads just do it.

If you do not live by the coast and will not drive the car when there is salt on the road and will change it in 4 or 5 years then it is less.

NOW

John

No time like the present

Mild steel starts to oxidise the moment is made, even before it becomes your car. It’s never too early to start rust prevention, so you’re already 6 years late.

First thing I did when I bought my car last year, a 2011 Powershift with 11,000 miles on it. I had it undersealed then but I’ll also like to get it a further treatment injected into the chassis rails.

For a “keeper” i would also suggest sealing the scuttle panel grommets and removing the alignment bolts on the suspension to grease the shafts.

I used silicone grease on the bolt shaft. Same grease was applied to all the undertray bolt threads and screws and rear wheelarch liner studs.

Where in the South East are you?

Hi,

I’ve just had mine done, not sure if you’ve seen my thread but the “before” photo’s may be of interest although my car is much older than yours.

https://www.mx5oc.co.uk/forum/yaf_postst104719_An-afternoon-of-rust-treatment-on-my-MK3-2006.aspx

As other have said, get it done now.