1996 UK 1.8is restoration

So I’ve finally started to strip the car and start the restoration that I’ve been promising the car for the past 3 years. Surprisingly, I have found no rot so far. I think that the remedial work I carried out about 7 years ago has definitely helped preserve the car. There is a tiny piece that needs repaired on the rear panel but so far, it’s all surface rust. I’ve been tapping away madly with the hammer expecting to go through but nothing yet.

Good luck! I hope your tapping is rewarded with a solid body…Unfortunately mine was not so lucky and is currently having some rust/panel replacement work done

That is almost identical to what I found after removing the old body sealer. I’ve managed to fabricate the lower end piece of the sill and half of the sill end plate so I’m in the middle of welding it all back together. Lucky for me, I’ve done my time working with really rusty crap as I’ve restored loads of Minis, Triumphs, Rileys etc over the years. The MX5 is a lot easier to work at. What I will say is that because of discovering this bit under the sealer, I’ve started removing all of the under seal under the car. Good luck with the repair. I’ll post a couple of pics of where I’m at to give you an idea of how I went about it.

As promised, this is the repair I fabricated. It still needs dressing with a flap disc but it’s all solid now.

![

2 Likes

Thanks for the pictures, it does look similar - The garage has made all the metal to weld in and will be doing it over this week. There is a bit more to do, including the sills themselves, but apparently the current work will get through the MOT and I can get it back and use it over summer. Then at the end of the season I will send it back for the rest of the work, which is not as bad and a full repaint…giving me time to put some money to one side. Hopefully then I can not worry about it for a while.