2000 1.8 feels like it has rev limiter at 4K

Hi all.

My 2000 1.8 has started having a problem with hitting an invisible rev limiter! It is a standard 1.8, W Reg with 75K miles on it and generally has mild use by my wife since we got it 5 years ago. It is running on E5 fuel.

Recently I noticed that if you tried to rev it hard it bangs and pops at 4K when hot and will not rev past that limit. So I tried it from cold and it will rev to 6K before the problem starts, but the warmer it gets the lower the rev limit. I’ve tried it in 1st to 4th gear and it is exactly the same in all gears when hot.

Below the 4K point it runs perfectly.

I did a plug chop and they seem fine but as a precaution I replaced the plugs and leads as it was the cheapest first option.

Clearly it seems that it will be ignition or fuel based but I wondered if anyone had any thoughts about what to look for next - I am only an average home mechanic so if diagnostic tools are required I will have to find someone to do that. But any thoughts about what I can look for myself would be appreciated.

Thanks very much.

Hmmm
This is a tricky one but here goes.
Do you have a engine management lit BEFORE you start the engine?
Do you have an engine management light (EML) AFTER you start the engine?
This could be a catalyst / Lambda sensor issue, the car will run “open loop” whilst warming up then switch to “closed loop” when up to normal operating temperature.
This is a serious issue and the ECU should put out a code, if so the EML should be lit. Unfortunately the 2000 year NB mx-5 could have the old diagnostic port in the engine bay or have an OBD socket under the steering wheel.
Either way this needs to be investigated as you could cause serious engine damage if not rectified soon.
If you google MX-5 NB Diagnostic port you will see where too look, see Mazda MX5 OBD Diagnostic Plug Connector Location RHD - YouTube
Feel to come back with further information.