25AE v 30AE

Having sold my 25AE a couple of months back (big mistake) I’m looking to buy another. BUT I really like the 30AE. I’m swaying to the later car on the basis the 25AE is coming up for nine years old and I have zero mechanical knowledge although I know they are pretty bomb-proof. The 30AE, I just like the spec and the colour but my wife hates the colour. Neither car will see much use (no more than 2k a year). If anyone has experience of both models, or can give an unbiased view, would appreciate your thoughts?

Honestly (as the owner of an ND1 Recaro), I’d go for the 25E, better paint, no likely problems with the rear bearings or potential gearbox issues. Paint on the NDs is stupid thin so they chip far too easily.

Thanks for the feedback. I had heard the Soul Red was very thin but didn’t know it extended to the orange

Pretty much as Gareth says. I love the orange 30th (soft top, not the sunroof version) but my mates 25th Anni is so nice plus the bonus of the folding hardtop. I’ve found the ND’s to be slightly annoyingly less practical too, but I’d be more put off by their mechanical known issues.

2 Likes

Edging to the 25AE which in all honestly wasn’t what I wanted to hear. Challenge will be to locate a pristine example

25AE FTW, but I am biased…

2 Likes

A 30AE would be twice the cost! Why on Earth did you sell the 25AE ? Everyone knows they are the best.

Yes, why did you sell it only to be looking for the same again 2 months later?

Wish I knew why I sold it too. Sometimes we make hasty decisions! I had been looking for a late, low mileage SL500 to a very specific spec. Eventually one came up. No regrets. Absolutely fabulous car but not the thrill factor of the Mazda on narrow twisty roads. Having two convertibles was silly, but the noise and torque from the V8 totally intoxicating. I’m sure I’ll get another 25AE as soon as the right one comes along. Just wish I could get a different perspective from a 30AE owner!