'98 NB, probably an import?

Hey all,

Was looking at this mx the other day (brother has owned a couple, so I know some rough basics) but i’m new to the UK and the rules here.

I’ve found what looks like a very early NB, which I believe to be imported (VIN sticker says JD destination?). There isn’t any documentation about the importing and it also has these 3 stickers in the door jam too, could they be mileage when imported?

VIN Sticker:
VIN Sticker

Other Stickers:

Any and all info appreciated.

Considering white was never sold in the UK, I’d say that gives it away

Yes it’s an import, nothing wrong with that though. Condition is the most important thing on an NB.

Gra

Yeah, i did plenty of research first, so i know about the rust issues.

It’s actually rather solid, i think having a hard top most of its life has helped protect the sils. but still has some light surface rust around the place, as expected.

Looking at the sticker it’s a 1.6 special package 

Yeah, it matches up with it having all the electrics… so maybe it has a LSD too (hopefully).

Usually have square number plate on rear and Japanese writing on sun visors. Not sure if UK models have it but indicators on wrong side. Dash could still be in kms

1 Like

NB6s never had LSD unless it was the track edition, which this isn’t.

If imported recently, likely much better rotwise than a UK car. If imported some time ago, then look for rot like any other.

Seats are also a giveaway; UK early Mk2 seats had a seperate headrest, imports had highback buckets.

Well, I ended up buying it. So Thanks everyone for your input.

It has the square rear plate, but English on the sunvisors (could have been swapped?)
It does have indicators on the near sides, but that is “normal” for me.
and it does have the 1 piece high back seats.

I’ve still seen some references to the jap version 1.6’s could get LSD’s (see here: http://ox.mx5oc.co.uk/guide-eunosold.htm )