A slightly different tyre question

I have just bought a 2015 NC3 with 51k miles. There’s a mix of tyres on it (all 205/45 R17), and I’m pondering what best to do.

Both fronts are Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 with 5mm tread.
One rear is a Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 with 4mm tread.
One rear is a brand new Comforset CF700 (as sold by Asda, I believe!) with 7mm tread.

Should I:

1. Replace all 4 tyres with Kumho Ecsta PS71?
  2. Replace the rears with Kumho Ecsta PS71, and wait until the fronts need replacing before changing them to Kumhos?
  3. Just replace the Comforset with a new Hankook (and possibly swap fronts and rears)?
  4. Do something completely different?

I’m a reasonably fast road driver, but not a total hooligan, and don’t plan on doing any track days, etc. I’m also planning to get a 4-wheel alignment, but obviously not until after I get my tyres sorted out.

I would recommend replacing all four with Avon ZV7s; I’m on my second set. Really suit the traction control system, very impressive wet grip and not too noisy. Previous set lasted 32,000 miles, rotated twice. £342 delivered and fully fitted from here. Mk3 MX-5s like the same tyres on all four corners, preferably with the same tread depth.

2 Likes

Based on previous posts you will get better results if all 4 tyres are the same size and brand. These cars seem to be incredible sensitive to tyres whether it’s pressures or type so for best results you need to spend the money on these rather than bits of chrome or louder exhausts.

1 Like

I was in similar situation and fitted four Kumho PS71’s and sold on my rears what the dealer fitted just before i bought it, can’t think of make but cheapo ditch finders. So much quieter and DSC not coming on so much. Bought them from MyTyres via eBay when they had a sale on for £210 and £40 to fit and got £30 for old tyres.

I had Kumho KU39s on my NC and have recently fitted PS71s on my ND. Great tyres all round and my usage is similar to yours.