Best option for drop of ride height but maintaining stock characteristics

I love the way my NC drives. Only the wheel gap is a bit big. I have thought about buying stiffer suspension from the likes of Bilstein or MeisterR or whatever. But after having read a lot about the way the MX5 is supposed to communicate with the driver (for example https://arstechnica.com/cars/2015/09/the-case-against-grip-as-evidenced-by-the-2016-mazda-mx-5-miata/ ) and the fact I am no pro driver I actually don’t want to eliminate roll. I do want the wheel gap to be a bit less. And I’m ok with a very slightly stiffer setup but not more than that. Also, I don’t want to go the route of the lowering springs as that makes the suspension under damped and suspension travel less.

So, I was thinking of the optional stock Bilstein setup. However, I have not been able to find how much it lowers the car. I keep only finding information about after market Bilstein setups. Also, I found some drivers apply Bilstein B6’s as shocks. But to me it’s not clear how close they are to OEM spec. Can anyone tell me something about the optional Bilsteins and aftermarket B6’s? Or other good options?

I don’t know of any method of reducing suspension height without reducing travel. If you use shocks with adjustable spring platforms with standard springs you could lower the car and reduce the gap but you will reduce the travel. With standard springs you may also find that with the car fully loaded it will hit the bumps stops a lot quicker than a car with stiffer springs. I think that you will find that the Eibach lowering springs have very little effect on the ride comfort of the car but even so, without the stiffer Bilstein shocks as used on the “Sport” versions you will tend to hit the bumps stops a lot sooner with a fully loaded car.

I think that there are only a couple of ways of achieving what you are after: