Buying an NB as a first timer

Hi there,

I am new to buying MX-5’s and have decided that an NB is what I want, I’m making this post to ask for common faults / things I need to look out for while viewing these cars.

This is an example of what i’m looking at within my budget:

Any help or advice is appreciated.

Thanks

Welcome to the group. Take your time and look at a few examples before you commit, first thing is check MOT history, that will give you a very rough idea of how much rust has been an issue. These cars all variants, up to and including the ND, are prone to rust from the inside out.

On the NB the chassis rails in the engine bay, so not checked for MOT, can be particularly prone thanks to heat from the engine speeding up corrosion by water trapped inside them. The sills and arches front an rear should also be thoroughly checked, small bubbles of rust are usually the tip of an iceberg.

That said all of these things are fixable and you should allow a part of your budget to do so, as you should allow a part of your budget for maintenance for instance water pump, cam belt etc, these cars are nearly all twenty years old and low mileage ones, less than ten k miles a year average, will rarely have been fully serviced.

I did none of the above, I bought a shiney '02 NBFL that drove well purely because it was red. I have since spent a fortune sorting the rust out and getting the maintenance up to scratch over 5 years with no regrets. The 60,000 miles I have driven her touring, on trackdays and in competition have been priceless and I would do it all again without batting an eyelid. Be warned these can be seriously addictive cars.

Finally keep asking questions, never stop asking questions, there is a fine support network here to help you tackle the most difficult MX-5 issues.

2 Likes

Thank you for the advice and the welcome :slight_smile: