Buying my first MX5, what should I look out for (mk3)

Hi,
I’m new to MX5’s, I’m looking at a Mk3 tomorrow. '08 plate, 40k miles. What should I look for? Any advice appreciated.
Thanks
Justin

Bar for the obvious i;e start stop steer…don’t look how shiny it is look under it we’re you won’t look …more so around the back end for rust they will all have rust but how bad does it look sills hard to tell because of plastic covers …but plenty of advice will come up soon so you will get used to the word rust…its a mx5

Body wise look at the return lip on the rear wheel arches for rust blisters and around the side repeaters on the front wings. Look at the bonnet leading edge for lacquer peel on top and underneath. Same again under the boot lid around the number plate lights more so for corrosion, it probably will have there.
Check under the car for corrosion, especially down where the rear part of the sill meets the lower wheel arch and under the car at that point. Some of that will be covered with arch liner. Whilst down there check the overall rustiness (or not) of the rear subframe, some can look nasty with rust but maybe solid.
The general condition of the tyres (any car really) but I like them all to match with a decent brand on there. Any mismatched tells you maybe the previous owner wasn’t really that bothered in that department. Some dealer cars may just bung any tyre on to sell the car, those things can be changed though.
Check the engine has the correct oil level, most important and of course the service history.
Make sure the inside is dry, leaks can occur, wet carpets a tell tale sign of course.
Test drive, it stops goes and steering feels good are basics and there are no unusual noises. Don’t buy the first one you see/test drive, I usually have to take a step back if unsure and have a think, sleep on it so to speak.

2 Likes

Perfect, actually going to print this as a checklist