Getting started in track days and maybe getting some coaching?

1. My model of MX-5 is: NC1
  2. I’m based near: Lymington
  3. I’m looking for technical help or recommendations on: Track days and training

So my NC1 is pretty new to me and (as far as I’m aware) a stock 1.8 5 speed.

I’ve never done a track day or anything like that and I’d like to know how to get started, whether there are better places than others for that first experience? How much it’s likely to cost and whether any special kit is required, a helmet? Whether it’s possible to get training or coaching but in my own car to get the best out of it and the day?

All complete newbie questions, please be gentle…

1 Like

Plenty of advice on here using the search tool.
Money spent on tuition is the best way to improve your lap time. More importantly, it makes you smoother and less likely to destroy your brakes, tyres and go off the circuit. Better driving and car preparation first, lap times are way down the list.

If your car is new to you I would start small. When I got my NC I went to Curborough, Blyton, Donington - in that order. Also got a 4-wheel alignment.

The only mistake I’ve made is putting new road tyres on the car and then tracking around Donington in the dry. Too much movement in the tread - or was it my cornering technique?

yes you need a helmet. you could get loan ones but I’d not fancy sweating in someone else’s sweat.

cost… depends on what track, accommodation, car consumables, considering you not planning crashing it.
to give you an idea for Donington park
250-350 track depending on what time in the season (some operators provide free photos and tuition but some operators do not)
30-40 garage
my race pads are 250 quid a pair and I’d expect 1/3 to wear down
tyres… use road tyres Michelin ps5, depends how much sideways, how hot it is. lets say 1/4 to 1/5 of their life
fuel on track at least a full tank if not more
food and accommodation if not local, up to you that really.