Hello from another new owner

Hello all … not only am I a new MX5 owner, I am new to Japanese cars entirely.

I’ve had a history of weekend / fun cars and this time around I wanted to try something I’ve not had before. 

I picked this up about a month ago, 2006 2.0 Sport with a hardtop.

The Mk3 seems to be the least favoured but being 6’4" it was really the only one I fitted.

While it has a decent history it needed the more unusual service items doing so I have changed the gearbox and diff oil, replaced spark plugs, coolant refresh. 

The next things on my list are sorting out the handling which is a little odd.  It has a lot of body roll on initial turn-in, instability / wooden-ness over bumps, tram lining and a general nervousness at anything over 50 mph … I suspect knackered shocks and worn bushes and the alignment is bound to be all over the place.   I’m off to search through the technical area of the forum to get some tips and pointers.

Welcome, from another newbie. Alignment is high on my priorities too

Hi Andy, This may be your local Area…https://www.mx5oc.co.uk/forum/yaf_topics180_West-London.aspx

Why not put your name down for this Sundays Visit/Display at the Kempton Steam Museum, see west london forum, that way you can introduce yourself…

Welcome from another West Londoner.

Check both the age of the tyres and the tyre pressures!

When I bought mine the tyres had 6mm all round and were the original Bridgestones fitted by Mazda in Japan, but were 6 years old and had done 17,000 miles, and offered a resilience more akin to Bakelite than supple rubber.  The DSC light kept flickering, almost without any provocation, and I felt I needed to tiptoe when cornering or braking or accelerating - definitely not a typical MX5.  Four new Dunlop Maxx tyres (NOT run-flats) and the car was suddenly a planted MX5, almost glued to the road, a joy to drive and with no hint of a flicker from the DSC even when pushed very hard.