Help needed trying to replace rear brake pads

I’m not a motor mechanic but having read bits on the internet and stuff on this Forum I thought I should be up to changing the rear brake pads on my 2001 Mk 2.5. I started with the o/s and everything went well until I tried to fit the caliper over the new pads. Of course it wouldn’t fit because I had only wound the piston back enough to clear the old worn pads, not the new ones. I then tried to wind the piston back further but it wouldn’t move. I did manage to wind the piston out a bit to see if it moved at all but of course I couldn’t then get the old pads back on either. It was suggested I try the n/s to see if that went okay. Unfortunately on that side I can’t even wind the piston back enough to swing the caliper out of the way. I have had advice from Robbie and Rob and having tried all their suggestions they are both a bit flummoxed. It is possible the handbrake isn’t fully releasing despite being fully backed off, the outer adjuster may have worn enough to become ineffective, or something inside the caliper may have broken.

My question is, before I start throwing money at this, are they any members knowledgeable on this topic who are close to Bromsgrove in Worcestershire and are prepared to come and take a look to make sure I haven’t missed anything or am doing something stupid. I appreciate that this is poor timing given the current situation but I’m sure we could do this in a safe way and I can provide nitrile gloves if needed.

Many thanks.

Hi Keith

I think we covered most of the possibilities but…

1. the handbrake is mechanical so if it is not releasing will stop the caliper piston retracting sufficiently. As the pistons on both sides are affected I would suggest that if the handbrake is the problem, it is the first single cable to the lever that is too tight. I know that you have removed the handbrake covers and unwound but perhaps need unwinding a few more turns and pushing down.