How do the new MOT rules affect a decat manifold upgrade?

Hi MX5ers 

Currently running stock exhaust but an exhaust manifold upgrade is in the pipeline, a 4-1 with decat.

How does this stand with the new MOT rules? 

I’m no expert, but looking at the tester’s manual for the 20 May 2018 onwards test, Section 8.2.1.1 it defines inspection of emission control equipment:

This inspection only applies to vehicles requiring a full catalyst emissions test (disregarding the Basic Emissions Test) and is restricted to components that are readily visible and identifiable, such as catalytic converters, oxygen sensors, exhaust gas recirculation valves etc.

It goes on to state: ‘(a) Emission control equipment fitted by the manufacturer: missing, obviously modified or obviously defective’ is a major defect and therefore a fail. 

It therefore appears missing or modified original emissions control equipment is in itself a major defect.  There seems to be no allowance for partial removal even if an emission test is passed unless it is buried somewhere else in the document.

On the face of it. the new test looks like bad news for modified cars. From your avatar, you have a mk3 and therefore requiring a full catalyst emissions test.   I’d put the ‘upgrade’ on the back burner if I were you.  I think there are going to be some ‘interesting’ MOT discussions after May.

The link is:

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/mot-inspection-manual-for-class-3-4-5-and-7-vehicles

(to add some humour, my  car passed its MOT today.  Whilst waiting I was chatting to the guy on reception and casually mentioned the revised MOT test planned for May 2018.  ‘Is there?’ he said).

JS

The rule for a missing catalyst exists currently IIRC, it’s really about the tester being familiar enough with the vehicle to notice it.

Thanks everyone for your replies. 

So I guess that the more OEM the installation looks the less conspicuous it will be and less likely to attract the attention of the tester?