Laptop Hard Drive Crash - Data Recovery

Unfortunately my Laptop Hard Drive has crashed. Its a 2.5 inch Western Digital Scorpio Blue 250GB drive.
I am going to need the services of a Data Recovery Company and hoping that someone can recommend. Seems to be an expensive service and a number of rogue companies around, so anyone with personal experience of this situation able to recommend a reputable company much appreciated.
Please private message me if this is something you would rather not place on a public forum.

Thanks

Rob

I’ve had a lot of personal experience with data recovery, but not any data recovery companies because I do my own attempts and if it fails it’s likely the data is gone for good.

That said there is GRC | Hard drive data recovery software   (which I’ve not tried because of expense vs loss in my case, but GRC are very reputable) but will attempt to hammer every sector of the drive to get the data off it.

But before you go spending an excess of money, the free options usually work well and you may as well try them before such things as SpinRite.

So, the main two questions are:

Was the drive still detected by the laptops BIOS/UEFI and just wouldn’t boot the OS/gave I/O errors or was it not detected at all on boot?

Do you have access to another computer (doesn’t matter if its a PC or a Mac provided its x86)?

If you answer yes to those then the easiest (and cheapest) recovery option is to try it yourself first, using TestDisk/PhotoRec TestDisk - CGSecurity and a SATA to USB adaptor.

You can plug the drive into the other computer and then set it to restore specific file types (Photorec) or the entire drive/partition (TestDisk) to either the free space on the computer you’re using, or a USB thumb drive / HDD.

1 Like

Do you need to recover data on the drive or do you just want to get up and running again ?

Hope you manage to get your data back.

I would recommend getting an external USB drive and doing regular backups.