Lifters cleaned now noisy

Hi all, well I had a lovely quiet running engine before I stripped it down to fit a new head gasket, while stripped I took the valve lifters apart and cleaned them in petrol re assembled them and primed them air expelled before re fitting to engine, started up and it now rattles badly, what’s gone wrong. Any replies appreciated.

Hydraulic lifter need oil in them
I would not have messed with them personally
have you ran the engine for a while as they should fill themselves back up it may take a while as the oil fill holes are small

thanks for reply, I refilled them and pumped the air out in an oil bath before refitting them so they were full the only problem was I could not start the engine after re-fit for a week so wondering if the oil has drained out, theoretically the oil shouldn’t drain out and I am now wondering if they need replacing.

I am no expert, and never been there and done that, but if you are certain it is the lifters rattling, I would be tempted to run it and see if it gets better on its own. Maybe pop in some 0w30 to help with cold flow.
Obviously being aware of potential to damage something designed to be cushioned by running them dry.
Only other option is stripping and priming - but before doing that I would like to understand what went wrong first time, to avoid repeating the same scenario.

But could it be something else? A bearing on a belt? A cracked heat shield? Something not torqued, or a broken bolt?

1 Like

Are you sure there’s an oil supply to the head?
Not with this engine specifically, but I have seen head gaskets with the oil hole/s non existent or missing, (maybe for a different but similar engine) and even gaskets fitted the wrong way round, blocking the oil feed passage.
The lifters should stop rattling after a couple of minutes running max, particularly as it sounds like they were primed correctly.

1 Like