Little car not being used

We have two cars - a big car, which is alright I suppose, does the job! And then Little Car - which I love!!! I bought it in October and have been so looking forward to the better weather so I can have the top down more. Alas. It isn’t being used at the moment. The big car is doing the shopping for parents and delivering to pupils. The little car is just sitting outside. So, I have a question. It usually starts no problem. It had been sat for two weeks and wouldn’t start (little light in the boot was on). I borrowed a small battery pack and it started first time, and as this was just before lockdown officially started I was able to take it for a run. Since then it hasn’t been started. I now have my own battery pack and am all set to start it but obviously can’t take it for a run just for the sake of it. Definitely non-essential travel. How often should I turn it over? Should I disconnect the battery in the meantime? What should I be doing? I’m new to this and haven’t had a car that requires any attention of this sort since the late 90s! When my first car died from a broken clutch I was heartbroken and vowed never to become attached to a car again, refusing to name them. Well, that’s gone out the window as I love Little Car and am missing it massively. Should probably give some details. 08 plate, it had done 110,000 miles when I got it and has only done about 600 since. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for rambling on.

I have my 06 regularly connected to a battery charger (CTek) just to keep it in good condition, only small battery so doesn’t take long.

3 Likes

Thank you for replying. I am a total novice and absolutely not a tinkerer. What do you mean by regularly connected to please? And do you just let it sit and idle in our current circumstances? I want to make sure it doesn’t stop working completely. I also want to check the roof goes back ok still but not sure how much battery that will use.