Lower miles MK3 or High Miles MK3.5?

Hello everyone. Newbie here to both the forum and to the MX5. Forgive me if I have made any mistakes with the versions of the car.

Short version of the question: do I buy a MK3 with lower mileage ( Sport spec) or a MK3.5 (Sport Tech ) with higher mileage? Costs are coming in broadly similar.

Longer version of the same question:

I’m in the market for an MX5. I started looking initially at models that were around 2006-08, around the £3-4,000 mark. These were around 100,000 miles on the clock.

I then searched for lower mileage examples. These were coming in at around £5-£6,000 ( circa 50,000 miles ).

However; I’ve noticed that these models do not come with cruise control as standard. This is a function I do like to have on all my cars I’ve had previously. So to get one with CC, I think I’d have to go for a 2009 model which I believe is a MK3.5. For around £6,000, I’d be getting one with around 80,000-100,000 on the clock.

This is the maximum I want to pay, ideally around the £6k mark. How do these cars hold up when they hit 100k miles. I’d be looking to keep the car for a few years.

This would be our second car. I’ve never owned a two seater soft top but have researched a little and decided upon on the MX5 as the one to go for. I think I do prefer the look of the front end of the 2009 onwards model. Not had the chance to drive one yet either, only just started looking.

Any advice greatly appreciated. Thank you.

In a nutshell you need to look at service history, proper services especially regular oil changes. That goes for both earlier and the later models.
Yes the Mk3.5 has the upgrades including engine tweaks so more desirable but if looked after the earlier model is still a good buy.