Mini Cooper , Mystery misfire

Mini misfire

Hi all,

Any Mini Cooper experts on here, I know it’s an mx5 forum but don’t want to set up an account on another forum for a car brand I know very little about or have interest in.

Friend purchased a 2008 1.4 petrol Mini Cooper with 100k miles, they bought it to replace a Toyota Yaris they rolled and was beyond repair but it turns out the mini although appears to be in good order but has an interesting engine misfire which we can’t figure out what’s wrong, I’m not an expert on these at all.

Car has recently been serviced with new oil and filter , air filter and spark plugs., engine sounds fine with no rattles or knocking noises.

The issue is a misfire on cylinder one and going off this cylinder completely at times at idle, sometimes it recovers and idles ok and is firing on all four then cylinder 1 would drop out again, idle speed 800rpm. Code reader only shows misfire on number one cylinder no other cylinders recorded as a misfire.

Runs fine when cold but misfires when temperature is up.

New spark plugs fitted and have swapped over coil packs plugs between cylinders but still misfire on number one

Swapped spark plugs between cylinders also, no difference.

Removed plug on number 1 and checked and is getting spark.

Compression test good and equal over all four cylinders done with engine hot and with wide open throttle.

When the spark plug is removed comes out wet soaked in petrol.

But here’s where it becomes strange, switch on the air conditioning and increased load adjusts idle to 850rpm and it runs perfectly at idle with no misfire but I suspect it’s misfiring slightly through the rev range as engine light comes on again quickly after resetting this although seems ok when driving I’m told.