MOT failed - rusted sills nr seatbelt mounts - any recommendations for a welder in Milton Keynes?

Well, my topic title says it all really.

Any recommendations would be welcome!

You could try World Wide Motors in Newport Pagnell, they have imported a few MX 5s

I have no personal experience of them but have seen a couple of good reports in th MK Owners Club section.

There is also GP Autos on Kiln Farm, run by an ex-Pilling Mazda mechanic - he might be able to recommend someone

Thanks, I’ve actually gone with a recommendation from the place I got the MOT done, it’s a bodyshop nearby called Ro-Fit.  The guy who gave me the quote seemed knowledgeable and helpful.  He gave me two quotes:  

1. A plate weld that’ll get me through the MOT, £100 each side, inc respraying the sills with stone-chip protector.  

2. A full ‘proper job’ inc the wheel arches £300 each side PLUS the repair panels (currently ~£105 each from mxparts.co.uk)

Sadly I have to take the cheaper option… apart from the cost I’d have to wait too long to get the big job done.

Who knows, the MOT guy could be getting kickbacks from the welder, but at least it’s convenient - the welder will take the car to the MOT place for me.

OK, do let us know how it goes - I’m sure it would be of interest to any local Owners Club/Forum members as to the quality of the work.

Out of interest, which model MX5 do you have, and the age ?

My five has just failed for the same reason.

Think I will be
having a trip from Wolverhampton to MK. My brother works at Seat in MK
and has recommended someone at Aston Martin in Newport Pagnell.

Yeah, that’s what mine looks like (maybe not quite so obvious, there are no actual holes, just bits you could feel could be pushed through with a finger)It’s a  Mk2 S-reg 1.8 Sport

I’ll report back next Friday, once the work is done.