MX5 NC Track Prep

Hi guys,

Had a look online and can’t find a decent answer, so thought I’ll ask on here.

I plan on tacking my MX5 NC a fair amount, brakes are obviously a go to, with front pads, fluid, braids etc.

However as i’m new to the MX5 scene I was wondering how essential discs are over the OEM ones as well as rear pads being fitted? E.g is it recommended or would I be quite alright with OEM?

Cheers

I think you are asking if you either should fit OE pads because pattern ones won’t be good enough or that do you need to put posh discs on?
Some people may have favourites but it is certainly not essential to have anything more than the standard disc or a pattern replacement. Pad choice will be the big one. Remember both are consumable so depending on just how much braking you plan on doing, they will need changing regularly.

1 Like

Hello DanielMX5

For advice Plus brilliant service you would find it hard to beat Paul Roddison.
Roddisons Motorsport Sheffield S9 1US 0114 244 5300.

Stay Safe Have Fun

Keith

I track my NC quite a bit. I use standard discs and Yellow stuff pads, Never had problems. Make sure the fluid is fresh,

Tracked our NC BBR Super 200. Upgraded the discs, brake lines and fluids. Yellowstuff pads lasted one track day at best. Tried various others before sticking with Hawk Performance… not cheap but much longer lasting. However, my son does tend to work the brakes pretty hard :grinning:

1 Like