Mx5 Powershift

Hi all. Newbie here.

I’ve had manual boxed Mx5’s for the past 10 years.

Currently looking for a Mk3.5 Mx5 Roadster and noticed a few Powershift models. 

Anyone have any thoughts they might like to share on the auto box? Are they a good setup…smooth…seamless? Trying to demo one but none local to me at present.

All comments gratefully received

Only know of one car that had an owner that preferred automatics. He was happy with it’s operation but was very unhappy as it used some more not a lot say 2mpg fuel than the manual MX5 when “Mazda said it should use less”.

I pointed out that the figures produced by Mazda advised it used a bit more fuel than the manual.

At that point he said he would get rid of it “as all automatics use less petrol than manual cars”.

Therefore it would appear to be a good box with a small fuel consumption penalty.

Thanks for that…much appreciated. Not too fussed about a drop more fuel. Sounds marginal and we all drive in differing styles. I’m only tempted as the missus loves the auto box on my Lexus. So I found myself thinking why not on the Mx as well?
Maybe that’s why it’s higher on road tax for the auto.

Enjoy your car when you get it!

HiI’ve had our Powershift about two weeks and so far it’s been very pleasant to drive, my wife loves it… which is more than half the battle isn’t it? 

Petrol - Locally we’re averaging about 33mpg which is a bit painful but I’ve now changed the dash menu display to ‘temperature’ rather than ‘MPG’ and fill the tank whenever it needs petrol, thus eliminating a ‘worry gauge’ that you can do nothing about.