My 1st MX5 (Red 1990 MK1): a bad start

Hi all,

Well late last summer i purchased my 1st mx5. I’ve been pining after one for many years after a friend let me drive his one whilst at Le Mans, I loved it. For years, I haven’t had the money or time to buy one as it was going to be my second car.

Last summer, I finally decided to bite the bullet and get one. It was heart over head purchase. It came up on ebay/gumtree 30 miles away and looked fantastic. An early MK1 (prod. number 9095 if you’re interested…) in Classic SU Red. It had been resprayed within the last 3 years, had a decent MOT history, a Mk2 hood and needed just a few bits doing. I went to see it and drive it. The suspension definitely needed work, the exhaust was leaking at the head and at the back and i had 147,000 miles under it’s belt…so i bought it for £1000.

Here it is when I got it home.

All was going well and I loved it, despite it sounding rough as hell, until I took the Girlfriend out for a drive in it. 20 mins in and it sounded bad, start running on 2/3 cylinders, it was the head gasket…

Off it went to C+C Sparkes Engineering in surrey for a new engine…

New engine in (£800 later) it was discovered that there was some strange damage in 4 places to the chassis rails and a bad bit of rust to go with it. I was not a happy bunny and had to fork out another £500 to get that fixed.

Once it was home I set to sorting that exhaust out…

I fitted an MX5 parts stainless steel system which sounds fantastic to be fair, completely transforms the driving experience.

There’s not much else I have done to it since and i’ve hardly driven it as it has been stored at my grandparents 30 miles away over winter. I was about to get it out when lockdown hit so i guess i’ll have to wait.

I have however bought some new wheels to go on it that came with with decent tyres, I wasn’t a fan of the black painted daisy’s if i’m honest, so bought these…