NC Legroom - Differences between years, seats and roof types?

Evening all,

First and foremost, newbie here and sorry to post on a topic (NC legroom) which I know has had a lot of previous discussion, but I couldn’t quite find an answer to my specific query.

I am currently in the market for an NC model for some weekend fun and potentially the odd track day. It will be a third car, hence going for an earlier car to save a few £££ would be beneficial.

However, I am 6’3” and unsure of whether I should be narrowing my search to a specific year (3 or 3.5), seat type or roof type in order to maximise legroom / comfort?

A local trader was kind enough to let me sit in a pre-facelift model with leather and soft top and a facelift roadster with non-leather. The findings were as follows:

The earlier car felt a bit tight leg room wise but head room was great, even with roof up. The later car felt much better in terms of leg room, but my head was rubbing the roof lining.

Would this make sense? I.e: did the later cars have a re-designed cabin for legroom or is it all down to a change in just the seat subframe? Or perhaps the seat type?

I am just wondering if another connotation such an earlier car with non leather would suit me better? Or if not, could I fit facelift seats to an earlier model to get the additional leg room? Or use a seat lowering bracket?

Thanks in advance,
Matt

I’m not an expert, actually a fairly new owner so lots of people on here have much more knowledge than me about these cars, however I did a bit of research before buying.

Earlier cars had door cards that projected further into the cabin especially the cup holder against your knees. Later ones got rid of this. Also apparently the soft top is slightly lower for headroom than the prht hard top due to the design, roof support bars and potential bit of sagging in the material.