Newbie needing advice on MK1

Hello all!

I’m considering buying a family friends 1990 MK1 1.6, first registered in 1994,160k miles and one owner since then. It’s always been a car that I would love to have and he is looking to just get rid and asked for around £500 (more likely to be less). I have no experience at all with anything car restoration related and trying to figure out if it’s going to be worth it at all. I haven’t seen the vehicle yet as he’s away for a couple of weeks but I have the number plate and looked up the last MOT status (I’ve put all the advisories below).

I know I need to have a look at the vehicle first but would love some advice to what to look out for (I already know it has a bit of rust which is expected with a car of this age). Also just general advice to if I should go ahead/ if I do ahead what kind of things I will have to do to get it back to a good working car and fix the rust issues etc.

Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks!

Monitor and repair if necessary (advisories):

• Nearside Front Upper Suspension arm corroded but not seriously weakened (5.3.3 (b) (i))
  • Nearside Front Lower Suspension arm corroded but not seriously weakened (5.3.3 (b) (i))
  • Offside Front Upper Suspension arm corroded but not seriously weakened (5.3.3 (b) (i))
  • Offside Front Lower Suspension arm corroded but not seriously weakened (5.3.3 (b) (i))
  • Nearside Rear Upper Suspension arm corroded but not seriously weakened (5.3.3 (b) (i))
  • Nearside Rear Lower Suspension arm corroded but not seriously weakened (5.3.3 (b) (i))
  • Offside Rear Upper Suspension arm corroded but not seriously weakened (5.3.3 (b) (i))
  • Offside Rear Lower Suspension arm corroded but not seriously weakened (5.3.3 (b) (i))
  • vehicle corroded underneath
  • Front Anti-roll bar corroded but not seriously weakened (5.3.3 (b) (i))
  • Rear Anti-roll bar corroded but not seriously weakened (5.3.3 (b) (i))