smokeless versus coal

It’s that time of the year again when I start to think about ordering coal for my lounge fireplace. Being old school I normally buy various sizes of coal plus some synthetic nuts.

This year I thought I might experiment with some smokeless fuel. Does anyone have any experience with Anthracite or  Smokeless nuts/cobbles etc ? My coalman seems to have a varied selection.

Thanks 

I worked in the coal mining industry for a number of years where we got concessionary fuel as part of our wages.

I used Anthracite for a good number of yesrs.

The stuff we used to get was very small nuggets, about the same size as a midget gem sweet.

It was more suited for closed, high draught / fan assisted boilers.

hi keat63 ,

which pit did you work at ???

any other ex- miners on here ???

This thread is a bit like being in a time-warp ! 

I didn’t realise people still had coal fires these days, and in my neck of the woods, I’ve not seen a traditional coal-man doing his rounds for years !

Perhaps I ought to get out more…

Yeh mate! get out more. We also have hot water, electricity and gas up north.  My coal man sells everything for coal fires, log burners, must be lucrative as he runs about 5 or 6 coal lorries. At ÂŁ20 a bag not surprising. Nothing like a a nice warm coal fire on a cold evening watching the tv.  Presume your sat around the radiators? 

I’m only after some info on the performance of smokeless as against coal. Thanks keat63 for your reply.

I worked in engineering at NCB Shafton Workshops, just around the corner fom Grimethorpe

i worked underground at Parkmill (denby dale )  and  Sharlston  (wakefeild ) until finishing in 1993

Worked in testing at Bretby and used to visit Shafton a lot to look at the shearer overhauls and testing. 

sorry for hijacking … by ex-miners

going back 25 - 35yrs , i did burn anthracite nuggets on my charnwood burner and had no issues , plenty of heat produced !

Hmm, you might consider avoiding Welsh Nuts.