Spark Plugs NC 2.0 Sport

1. My model of MX-5 is: September 2010 NC 2.0 Sport
  2. I’m based near: Berkshire
  3. I’m looking for technical help or recommendations on: Spark Plugs

Hi, I have an odd situation and would like see if anyone has experience on the topic.
I have a new-to-me, 2010 NC Sport 2.0 approaching 100K. It has Mazda FSH with the original supplying dealer and they apparently did the plugs at 50K. I thought I would change the spark plugs now, a bit earlier than the schedule as it just doesn’t seem smooth at slow speeds, revs seem to fluctuate at 2300rpm. Most noticeable if you want to crawl along in 2nd, it feels like it repeatedly ‘bounces’ up about 200rpm on top of what you’re holding. Other than this, it seems to accelerate and idle ‘OK’, but then I have no experience with any other MX5s to compare it too. No error codes using OBD reader.

I looked up the spark plugs on NGK site, and was suggested ILTR6A-13G. All threads here on OC seem to back that up. I ordered them.

I pulled out the existing ones and compared side by side with the new ones. They are a lot shorter than the new ones! Old 17.5 mm, new 25mm. The existing ones are Mazda TR5AI-13. My research shows they are NGK and suitable for the 1.8 only.

Overall this points to the wrong plugs being in it and I have the correct replacements, but obviously you can imagine I am apprehensive to put the new longer ones in :slight_smile:

Should I slap them in, turn the key whilst looking the other way pulling a funny face and flinching slightly? Or any reassuring tips? :slight_smile:

Thanks for any input.
DT

Go for it, it seems the incorrect plugs were in it. Check most other suppliers and it comes up with the 25 mm reach plugs for the NC2 2litre.
Can’t say I’ve changed the plugs on my 2 litre, they were done 25k miles ago by the Mazda dealer.

1 Like