Stiffer springs to cure tyre rub

1. My model of MX-5 is: 93 NA 1.6
  2. I’m based near: __Harlow Essex
  3. I’m looking for technical help or recommendations on: __suspension setup

Hi all

Our Eunos has some aftermarket coilovers fitted (unsure of the brand - first pic). They work fine with some F1 rims and uniroyal rain tyres (2nd pic)

However, I recently purchase some rims with track tyres that have a larger offset than the F1s (3rd pic). Fitting to the car there is serious tyre rub whenever we hit a bump. I’ve increased the height of the coilovers but still on larger bumps we get rub, which I’m thinking could be dangerous at high speed.

Question then - has anyone upgraded the springs on an existing aftermarket coilovers setup? I’m wondering if this would solve our problem (as the car won’t bounce so much). Would prefer to do this over ‘rolling the arches’ as we’d lose the classic look of the car.

Some pictures attached.

Hey, cool car.

I’m by no means an expert but have dabbled with many cars in my time.

You’d be better off buying coilovers with adjustable damping and specc’ed springs. (Unless these are adjustable) youl find most setups the spring and shock are matched and adding stiffer springs to a damper will give an undamped ride feel and lots of horrid bounce.

The car doesn’t seem low enough to encounter tyre rub, those coils must be very soft? Are the wheels spaced away from the strut/ arch correctly etc? Lots of possibilities here!

It would help to know what size the new wheels and tyres are.

Wheel diameter, width & offset
Tyre width and profile

Add negative camber…or do more homework about what you buy in future.
Niiiice wheels by the way :+1: