The dreaded rust

I’ve been member for two years now and this is my first post.

Today I started stripping the front end of my 54 plate NB Artic Edition. I’ve been winging it for the last two years but finally it failed it’s MOT due rotten chassis legs and boot floor. The boot floor has been sorted and I am waiting on new chassis rail panels coming. This thing is fighting me all the way. Every bolt or nut I try to get off shears off :face_with_symbols_over_mouth:. Never mind …. Let battle commence…:blush:

9 Likes

Good luck. :crossed_fingers:
Keep us posted.

2 Likes

Cheer’s …… Will do…

1 Like

Yep…Suspect to Be In Similar Boat Later This Month :smiling_face_with_tear:

“Once More Unto The Breach Dear Friends…” :muscle:

1 Like

Hang in there chief. When we got our NA we took the well trodden path of clearing out the drain holes and taking the bolts out of the front wing so that we could clear out any leaves etc that had gathered in there.

I think i snapped every bolt bar one - doh!

They clearly hadnt been touched in a long time and we had a short window of good weather to get it done.

In hindsight should probably have lathered them in penetrating lubricant and left them for a few days.

Lived and learned on that one.

On the upside managed to get them all sorted and now have nice fresh bolts.

Like yourself we got picked up on two small bits of corrosion first time we took her for MOT. That was the first sign of corrosion in the car in her life so far.

On the advice of wide and many we opted to get it properly sorted and then the full car undersealed at the same time.

Very happy with the results and we feel a lot better with that piece of mind.

If you are looking to get welding work done we have a couple of recommendations we could pass on.

If you are looking to get it undersealed we took her to Preserve and Protect which is in Johnstone near Glasgow.

Best of luck :+1:

2 Likes

Update on fixing up my