Turbo charging goals

Hi guys, im a complete novice to mx5’s so excuse my lack of knowledge but if we dont ask we dont learn.

Im purchasing my first 5 in June, probably a mk1 1.6 and have already been reading alot about turbo conversions.

The majority of the cars iv read about have gone beyond 200bhp, is there less work and/or less parts needed if I aimed more towards aroubd 170bhp as a rough figure. 

Cheers

G’day Jack

If you’re looking for 170BHP then why not go the supercharger route. I fitted a JR kit to my Mk1 1.6 a few years back and got a repeatable 170 without an intercooler or large pulleys. The car was brilliant to drive, felt like the big 6 cylinder in my Holden Ute! I opted for the Megasquirt ECU but I’m sure there are better options today

Hope that helps

Hi Geoff,

Yes I did have a think about that, am I right in thinking supercharging the car would be more expensive than a turbo conversion? I guess it depends on the parts you use and labour costs.

Iv checked out the megasquirt website, doesnt seem a bad ECU to begin with.

Be interesting to hear others opinions.

Cheers mate

supercharging may be cheaper. You wouldn’t have to intercool it for that power for a start. You’d still need an ecu to run it (I use Motorsport Electronics ME221). You’d also need a better exhaust and manifold than the oem one imo. I may have a HKS stainless manifold going spare soon! Also a cobalt exhaust system which is less than a year old :wink:

You’d also need bigger injectors, air filter,mapping done. You could have 170 bhp with a turbo but if you’re not wanting any more power than that (I have no idea why! ha ha) then a SC would prob be better for you. Instant power opposed to turbo lag, and cheaper to convert.

I’m going turbo over the next month or so and looking for about 230-250bhp. Hence why my exhaust system may soon be for sale!