Turbo Mx5 Reliability

Hi All, Im looking for some information regarding the engine reliabilty of turbo charging my mk1 1.6

Please go easy as i am new to forced induction on the 5 lol, Basically i am buying a turbo kit wich is good for 250bhp, and would like to know if the cars reliabilty will suffer at all

what i am buying:

Turbo kit With front mount intercooler

Megasquirt Plug n Play Ecu

Uprated fuel pump

Uprated clutch

bigger injectors

Other than that the engine is not being uprated, just bolt on and go lol

any info would be gratfully apreciated

G’day Dai

Not really en expert on big bhp in a '5, mine only has 175 bhp on a supercharger. I do know of a number of cars that go to 250 without breaking up, but I would want to be pretty sure of the state of the engine before I went that far. The 1.6 '5 engine is based on the old turbo 323, so it’s a pretty strong unit. Try posting your question on the mx5nutz forum, there is a lot more FI activity over there. Interested in why the 250bhp figure?

Basically thats what the website claims the turbo is good for with proper setup: so just going by that lol

I’ve run a £500 second hand turbo set up reliably despite some very abusive driving (high revs and poor cooling airflow). 3 years and 10,000 miles trouble free apart from the fire.

I’m only running 6psi of boost though. And no control over spark or fueling apart from some retard and an AFPR (I know it’s a bodge, but it works)

If you want to avoid a fire make sure you use good quality hose for your oil drain - mine became soft from the heat and oil, then split and dumped hot oil on the exhaust. If your kit is new you shouldn’t have to worry.

lol, fair enough mate, i think you prbably know the legend thats doing the conversion for me lol, mike stealth performance. He was the one that sr20d jamie kenyons mx5,

What website is it?

http://www.cxracing.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=CXR&Product_Code=TRB-KIT-MIATA-16-IC&Category_Code=TRBMIA