White tube in glove box

1. My model of MX-5 is: __NC 2.0
  2. I’m based near: __Luton
  3. I’m looking for technical help or recommendations on: __ heater and interior. Hello newbie here, had first mx5 for a few months and loving it (despite the mid life crisis comments)
    Heater is not blowing ‘what I call’ hot, changed thermostat and coolant, heater pipes from engine bay into car get hot after running for a while. I took the glove box out today to see if anything obvious and came across the item in the attached photo. Anyone help what is is? White has a spring inside and a cord not attached to anything. If I pull cord spring retracts. Should the cord be attached to anything? Any help welcome Simon

Just had a look at mine for you, the string attaches to the left side of the glove box. Should have a loop on the end. Seems to be just to dampen the opening speed.

1 Like

Thanks very much for quick response. Makes total sense I’ll rig up a fix. Worried it was something vital.

Have you managed to expel all the air from the cooling system. Heater not blasting hot after a stat change suggests an airlock.
Squeeze a few hoses with the front of the car on ramps (nose up) and with the engine running. I also squeezed the larger coolant hoses too, those near the battery box at the front of the engine but don’t touch those with the engine running for obvious reasons.:+1:

1 Like

Hi I will try that, when I refilled coolant I just one of the high level filler and had plenty of bubbles expelled with engine running. I will try the hoses again thanks very much Simon

Hi all, advice again please, heater is not blowing out hot air, if I turn it to cold it drops down but full up to hot just seems warm. Non a/c.
I know this is a common coolant too low (have completely drained,flushed and burped several times).
Thermostat changed at coolant flush.
Heater pipes at firewall getting hot (ouch)
If I take out glove box and feel bottom of heater unit it’s warm.