Any 5w30 oil?

1. My model of MX-5 is: __3
  2. I’m based near: __Colchester
  3. I’m looking for technical help or recommendations on: __oil
    My 5 is due for its oil and filter change, I did it last year and I used Castrol 3000 5w30 as advised along with an MX5 filter.
    My question is, there’s a lot of 5w30 Fully Synth oils available and a lot cheaper, is using one of these going to cause a problem?, now before I get my head bitten off, I will almost certainly be using the same oil and filter again, but wondered why other oils are frowned upon, is it the lack of additives etc, or purely the quality? for instance there is 5 ltrs of Ford 5w30 fully synth oil on ebay for ten pounds less than the Castrol 3000.
    My eldest son has just purchased a MK2.5 and wants service it himself also, we are no mechanics ,so I am interested to know what people think .

You’ll get a good deal of opinion, what’s best, this is what I use etc.

I’m no expert so I can’t really comment only…

I use Mobil super 3000 5w 30 FE full synthetic. The FE bit means (on the container) it’s suitable for Ford engines, I don’t think that matters too much. What does matter is what spec it says in the handbook, or ask here, after all we try and use the best or suitable products.

I could use it in my VAG engine daily driver also as that recommends a 5w 30 oil too but I use a Castrol oil for that purely as again it matches on the container what is recommended in the handbook.:+1:

2 Likes

OK thanks, to be honest I haven’t really looked through the handbook, and like a lot of blokes I rarely read instructions either, I’ll check it out, what I know about oil is from word of mouth.
I’m just curious as in the past on other old cars, I have used any oil available as long as the grade was ok, but want to make sure the Mazda always has decent oil.

Try Fuchs

1 Like