Bilstein shocks?

I’m still learning about the different options on the NC, and have seen Bilstein shocks mentioned quite often (on the 2.0 Sport Tech).

Can someone enlighten me as to the benefits of these?

TVM

I think they are seen to be an upgrade on the 2.0L Sport or later Sport Tech and I can’t comment a great deal on how good or bad the standard dampers are when driving in a sporting fashion. I did test drive a few stock cars before getting my Sport Tech with Billies and found the standard car was way to soft and a little unsettled with some strange diving under braking with some lift off oversteer happening at the front. Some are happy with the Bilsteins ride and performance on the Sport but if you are more performance focused you will probably find the standard Sport suspension with Bilsteins fitted is still too soft and allows too much body roll. Like I say if your ok with the soft setup and higher ride height that’s fine but if not an intermediate step is lowering springs which improves things somewhat. Then there’s coilovers which is the best but most expensive solution but really sorts the car out properly.
Basically I wouldn’t get too bogged down trying to find a car with Bilsteins if you have found a nice tidy example with standard dampers as they are not that much cop and you may well end up changing them.

Hope that helps.

Thanks Jimbo. Ideally I’d like a 2.0 Sport Tech, so these would be fitted, and to be honest I’m not into lowering etc, just a fun ride! :sunglasses:

I really like the suspension set up on my 2014 Sport Tech, for a ‘mature’ person it’s just about right, wouldn’t want it any firmer. It sits very flat when cornering and handles bumps well.
I suppose you need to try before you buy and get what suits you.

2 Likes

The NC2 after 2009 has revised suspension geometry and sits lower by design then the older NC’s. It is better with less roll and better handling out of the box but its still too soft for many people.