Depreciation estimate for ND after 1yr?

Hi, newbie here with a question about expected depreciation of ND. A recent change in family car from boring people carrier to sportier hatchback has made me reappreciate driving (or you could read: mid-life crisis) and looking to get a Mazda MX-5 ND RF as weekend car.

I prefer the RF over the soft top as figure it’s more secure (it’ll be parked on street) and more sound insulated when driving on motorway with the roof up.

I have ~10-12K budget with extra to cover tax, service, insurance with breakdown. I appreciate it’s a challenge to pick up an ND at this budget but seems doable if buy one nowish in winter and consider Cat N and Cat S cars.

Looking at this as a 12month tiral to confirm I this really is the hobbie for me and that I use the MX-5 as much as I expect. Is it reasonable to expect £1k depreciation in 12 months time assuming less the 5k miles?

I’ve not owned sold a Cat N or Cat S before and expecting they would have higher depreciation? Would others agree? or is it just they are harder to sell?

I prefer the ND over the others MX-5s for the styling, onboard tech and I figure newer car would have less potential for issues. Interested if people think I’d be better going for NC given my budget is super tight for an ND. Thanks for the help,
Scott

Personally I’d go for a 25th Anniversary NC with your budget rather than a ND especially as that model came as fully loaded as you’d expect of the run out model plus has the proper folding hard top which (IMO) is much better than the glorified sunroof of the ND RF

3 Likes

Good suggestion. I’ll add the 25th Anniversary NC to my considerations. I assume the 25th Anniversary should hold it’s value better than similar NC (assuming f/s history condition etc). The other consideration I have is that I’m 6ft 2in and from youtube reviews the NC might suite me better for headspace.