First mx5 1991

Hi, I am 20 years old and have just bought my first car. Its a 1991 mazda mx5. I paid 1250 for it, and I am wanting to rocketeer v6 it at some point. I haven’t picked up the car yet but I’ve seen pictures of it. A good friend sold it to me. I’m a mechanic so I was wondering what modifications I would be able to do to it to make it look better and to make it faster before I drop a v6 in it. Any help would be really appreciated. Free parts would be appreciated too :joy:
Many thanks

first job , is check your insurance premium :exploding_head: :exploding_head:
i feel sorry for the young en’s starting out on their driving life :red_car: :red_car:

1 Like

I’ve had a look at insurance and the cheapest one I’ve found is just under 2000 a year. I have only got my provisional licence at the moment though. My boss has already said that he will put the car on the work insurance.

1 Like

Priorities are:

1. Make sure the structure is solid, eg, the sills.
  2. The engine doesn’t produce a lot of power, you can do the manifold, catback, intake, but it won’t release all that much power. An aftermarket ECU will allow you to get rid of the air flow meter, a major restriction.
  3. Better to focus on the chassis. Renew the bushes, shocks, springs, and add good tyres. That in itself will make the car tackle the bends better