Footman James - What is the point?

So my car insurance is shortly up for renewal.

The car is modified (enough to prevent me obtaining quotes through most comparison websites). Adrian Flux (current holding brokers) have quoted slightly less than last year but only if I add my partner to the policy (which makes no sense as she’s had an own-fault claim in the last 5 years). So I needed a competitive quote.

[Performance Direct did give me a higher quote, rang me up and asked me if they should try and find an alternative insurer with a better price. Now I work in insurance, if you want to obtain a Customer, you don’t ask them if they want you to do your job, they expect you to provide your best possible terms. Even if they provided a ridiculously low quote, I don’t think I could accept knowing they’re likely to be incompetent at their job, but I digress]

Now I can see that most members have already moved away from Footman James due to price but I thought I’d give them a try.

Apparently Footman James can’t provide me with a quotation because I don’t have access to a second vehicle and use my 5 everyday. So I ask, what is the point of an Owners Club having a ‘Scheme’ with an Insurer whom won’t let you only insure your beloved 5?

Lastly, if anyone knows of a Motor Insurer whom is likely to provide a competitve quote on a modified 5, please let me know.

I tried FJ & like you, found they don’t want me to use my only car everyday…let alone insure it for…work use ShockHitting head on wall (have to say they’ve never been able to give me a good quote even when doing less milage)

I’ve done a few ‘mods’ …changed the colour of my seat covers, gaitors & dialsShock…enough to put off some insurers…