head gasket

i have a fairly slow oil leak on my 1992 1.6 car, and have been informed by a couple of people that it’s probably the head gasket that needs changing.  How tricky is it to do this at home?  I have limited knowledge of car mechanics, but also a limited wallet so don’t fancy forking out for the prices i’ve been quoted!

any help is much appreciated! Smile

Before spending big money, give the engine a good clean and wash using some GUNK. You brush it among-st all the dirt and oil then rinse it off with warm water, but don’t forget to wrap up any electrics with polythene bags etc. When it is clean keep a close eye on it to try and diagnose where it is leaking, it could be something as simple as the cam cover seal needing to replaced.  

If we new where you lived you may get an offer from someone near to you to come and help you out.

I have had similar issues recently and thought I had a head gasket leak. I knew rhe CAS was leaking so changed the “O” ring on that and have also changed the cam cover gasket. By doing those two has made the engine virtually oil tight. I do have a very small leak that I still have to find but it is very minimal and causes no real problem.

i would echo the above comment…cam cover gasket far more common problem in a 5 than headgasket failure…and much easier  / cheaper to fix :slight_smile:

To answer your question about changing the gasket yourself, really depends on how limited your mechanical knowledge is and more so what tools and equipment you have access to. I’d advise you go and by a Veloce workshop manual and read through the procedure yourself then decide if it’s a job you want to tackle. Allow yourself plemty of time to do it, better to spend 2 weekends doing it once than 2 weekends doing it twice.

Thanks for your help guys. I live in Gosport hampshire if anyone is local!  The leak appears to be coming from behind the exhaust heat shield, but ive not yet had that off to have a proper nosey.  thankyou all for your help!