Hire, new or second hand crash helmet?

Hi all,

I don’t own a crash helmet and am going to Japfest at Silverstone where I get to drive around the track.
I doubt it’ll be anything too sexy and will probably have an imposed speed limit (at least I’m expecting one).
In these Post COVID times, would you recommend me hiring a crash helmet, or buying one?
If I opted to buy one (as learning how to drive on a track - as opposed to on an urban road and then attending some track days is on my bucket list), is there a downside to a second hand one?

Total newbie to this element of motorsport, so please don’t assume I’ll have too much background info/understanding of regs or requirements.
Any help gratefully received.
Thanks

The downside is that you don’t know if it has been in a crash, dropped or the straps are damaged where you can’t see.
Helmets do sometimes fracture after a knock and it’s not visible to the naked eye.
I always bought new, as I reasoned that it had been through the stringent safety checks and packed.
You only have one life👍

Here endeth todays sermon!:grin:

3 Likes

Check requirements - if you have a convertible, they may insist on a full face helmet.

I have an open face I used on trackdays, but not in the MX5.

used helmats can not be 100% trusted.
personally the only time i would consider wearing a used helmat is if it was comming from an extreamly close family member ie father or brother. that i had compleat trust in! and then only if the activity needed a helmat just for the look of the thing and not really for safety.

best to buy a new one!
its not worth the risk and second hand helmets never quite fit right anyway!

1 Like

You will need a full-face helmet in the MX, if you hire, I’d buy a helmet liner, you never know what nasty hair/skin condition the previous occupant had!

If you’re going to do this regularly, buy your own new helmet, never second-hand.

2 Likes