Journey of a 19 year old NC1 owner

Hi, I’ve just purchased my first ever 5 at the age of 19!

I’ve been looking for a good 5 months now, and I finally found the perfect NC1.

An 07 plate that I’m picking up on Saturday. I’ve seen the car before in person and the deal has been done. It’s immaculate, 25k miles with full service history and no rust whatsoever, drives marvellous.

I tried my hand at haggling and managed to get a discount on the car which I was rather pleased with. Despite the fact my insurance is incredibly high being a young driver, I am going to enjoy my 5 very very much. I’m literally bursting with excitement for Saturday! Exact model is a 1.8 + option pack.

See the attached pics and you’ll see how mint it is for a 14 year old car.

My father helped me find the car, having owned an NC1 2 litre in the past himself, and kept telling me patience is key, no matter how much I moaned. As fathers often are, he was completely right. During my time of searching (I was looking for new listings every single day) we went to see some cars that looked good but always had issues such as ripped seats and soft tops with gashes in them etc that were never listed in the ads… probably something to do with the fact its now summer and dealers are charging insane prices for convertibles while they can, let alone MX-5s.

However, while my time was wasted looking at these, I did gain something. I got to sit in the car and get a feel of it, and I felt at home almost instantly. It felt so poised and ready, inviting me to enjoy the sensations of driving much more than my first car (a Ford Fiesta).

Anyways, I’m new to this entire forum posting thing and haven’t done any posts apart from when I was searching for an MX-5, so apologies if this isn’t the done thing, I just wanted to share my experiences of finding an MX-5 of my very own with this very inviting and kind owners club.