New member Newcastle upon Tyne

Hi all. I’ve just up-graded to a 2018 MX5 2.0 Sport Nav from a 2015 Porsche Boxster 2.7 PDK. That might sound a bit odd but I never ‘bonded’ with the porker, it was all a bit too digital for me and I’m enjoying the MX5 more after 2 days than I did the Boxster after 14 months.

I’ve already got a number of questions, no doubt someone will correct me if I’m asking them in the wrong forum area.

First, I drove an ND soon after they came out and I recall being underwhelmed by the engine’s willingness to rev. This one loves to go chasing the limiter, did Mazda change the engine? I’m wondering if the engine’s been remapped if the answer is ‘no’.

No 2, does the TC switch disable TC 100% or not?

Finally (ftb!), is my research correct in that the LSD is mechanical, not electrical? (Someone told me it’s the latter).

Thanks.

1 Like

Sorry can’t help you with your questions

I am sure the 2l engine was upgraded but I am not an expert on when or by how much

But Totally agree with you these are fantastic cars, rewarding to drive and unlike more powerful exotic machines I think you can actually enjoy them on the road

Mine has done about 900 miles now and they have all been fun

Greetings from Kingston Park

Yes, the Boxster never approached its limits unless at speeds that were licence-risking, and there’s little enjoyment in that.

Do you go to the local meets?

Hello and welcome from Nottinghamshire.
The 2019 MX-5ND (from 68 reg) has the upgraded and more free-revving 2 litre engine. :smiley:

Rob

1 Like

No don’t do any of the local meets, I have two young kids and actually doing anything is a total luxury!

Thanks for the welcome.
Mine’s an early 18 so it won’t have the improved motor, which reinforces my view that it’s been ‘played with’! I’m going to get it dyno’d so I know where my starting point is.

1 Like