Pre bent brake pipe supplier/ service

As my MX5 NA resto continues I have or know exactly where to get all the bits and bobs I need bar 2 items and one is mission critical.

My brake hard lines are in a poor state, especially where they have been exposed to the elements. I like the original look of the painted steel lines but could live with copper if needs be.

I’ve messed around with old cars for a long time and I can make a flair on a brake pipe. What I’m not very good at is making a nice neat factory-seque pipe that is arrow straight and neat bends in all the right places. Or at least not with the tools amateurs use. Mine look like a child has made them.

I know you can buy pre cut pre flaired pipes although that is the easier bit. I’ve been as far as corresponding with the fellow who supplies those kits to MX5 parts.

However I’ve never found a company that will make you a set of pipes up with the bends in. Does anyone know of such a company? I’d obviously need to collect but that is fine. I won’t we ready for them for a month or two and hopefully we can drive around then.

Have ago at doing it yourself. I recently replaced the front to rear brake pipe on my Mk2. I bought the pipe, a flaring kit and a pipe bending tool from Halfords as it worked out cheapest.
Its a surprisingly easily job getting the old pipe off and took about 1/2 to form the new pipe then bingo - it fitted exactly.
Such a feeling of satisfaction.

Mazda still supply most of the brake pipes.

Simply order straight pipes and get them delivered by Hermes. :roll_eyes:

6 Likes

:zipper_mouth_face: :face_vomiting:

1 Like

Would probably end up arriving with the right bends…but not necessarily in the right places :blush:

Do I detect a hint of Morecambe & Wise in your answer? :joy:

My attempts at brake pipes are certainly that.