Red turbo money pit

So having enjoyed a few months with my Euphonic NB I have somewhat lost my mind and bought a trashed and thrashed NA turbo conversion from the Isle of White.

Turbo conversion was most definitely ‘homebrew’ but seems to be pretty stable, running relatively low boost, roughly 10psi I think and comes with a dyno printout showing 203bhp. Only issue is the map, definitely needs to be sorted as the cold start needs half throttle for 30 seconds then gentle reduction onto idle (which seems low at about 600rpm) or the engine just stalls.

Basically all the trim needs changing including the soft top which is wrecked, the steering wheel is horrid, all the remaining OEM hoses are crumbling and despite the seller stating over the phone ‘trust me, I’m a welder and this car is completely rust free’ a cursory inspection at the Southhampton ferry port where I first saw the car revealed that not to be the case. At least one sill needs to be done plus some other spots and finally a respray.

The only mod I will be doing because I want to as opposed to because it needs doing is to change the exhaust as the noise when off boost is actually fairly uninspiring. Will probably go for a Malian.

I will try and document the process as best I can, it’s going to be fun/financially ruinous.

Michael

5 Likes

Hi Michael. Good luck with your project. I’m looking forward to hearing about your exploits.

Cheers,
Guy

1 Like

You are quite insane & positively certifiable.
Excellent!

3 Likes

So laughably I am stumbling at the first hurdle. I want to adjust the steering rack attachment and change the steering wheel. I literally cannot get this wheel off!

I’ve got the centre nut off as you can see but the wheel is not budging.

Note: I know I can undo all the Allen key bolts to get just the wheel off but I want the wheel and rack attachment off so I can straighten the attachment, it is about 5-10 degrees off straight at the moment.